Miller Charmaine

Charmaine's adventures in news writing and editing

Diary Week 6

with 2 comments

When I got to the newsroom, Samantha Shavell was out pursuing the story on Gov. Rick Scott coming to speak at UF. I proceeded to check the news in the area. After looking at the WUFT page, I made a quick edit to the controlled burn story, the headline of which was all upstyle while the rest on the page were downstyle. I also made the revisions Dr. Rodgers suggested on the car crash story I edited last week.

In the story idea meeting, a few of the pitches that were chosen were Scott coming to UF, reactions to the Pope resigning, and information on a new Shands facility to house patients’ families.

I then made some minor edits on Dana Edwards’ In the News, including changing a hyphenated long-standing to just longstanding. I also changed one of the headlines to downstyle to be consistent with the other headlines. There was also a sentence structure issue that stumped me. There was an incomplete sentence followed by a dashed —this— break, followed by a complete and new sentence. I think I ended up breaking it into two whole sentences.

The shift was a slow one, so Mina took some time to teach Dana and I how to use Storify. I think it’s a really interesting concept. I could actually see myself using it.

Then we discussed chasing Christina’s story. Dana and I were wanting more to do, so we decided to go for it. Christina’s idea came from a release of information from the CDC on Thursday. The CDC concluded that more mothers were breastfeeding their babies, and for a longer duration of time (continuing, for example, after the baby had reached 6 months), according to the CDC’s study from 2000 to 2008. Dana and I split up sources and each gave them a call. This enabled us to get more used to the recording booth. But neither of our sources called us back. I got in contact with Shands’ Center for Breastfeeding and Newborns and Dana tried to get in touch with a representative from Best Fed Beginnings. Both sources told us they’d give us a call back.

This also enabled me to learn about something I pretty much forgot about after the first day: callback sheets. It gave me a weird sense of solidarity and professionalism as I passed on that callback sheet to one of the Web producers who was just coming in to start her shift. At least I’m hoping that’s where it was supposed to go.

At that point, I had about half an hour left of my shift. In that time, I got to do a quick first edit on Samantha’s Rick Scott piece. I just made a change to uppercase state Legislature.

Written by charmainemiller

February 12, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SOME GOOD EDITING CHANGES ON YOUR MINOR TWEAKS

    ACKKK – CHECK SPELLING OF NAME = Dr. Rogers suggested on the car crash story I edited last week.
    http://www.wuft.org/news/2013/02/10/controlled-burn-causing-smoky-conditions-in-north-central-florida/
    TUT TUT: SAY SAID. PIO – HE IS SPOKESMAN – PUT AT AN END OF SENTENCE. HE SAYS SHOULD BE HE SAID AND GO AT END – IN OTHER WORDS TAKE THIS OUT OF BROADCAST STYLE.
    According to Alachua County Sheriff’s Office Public Information Officer Art Forgey, the controlled burn spans about 80 acres. He says Division officials indicated windy conditions would cause the smoke to spread into parts of North Central Florida.
    http://www.wuft.org/news/2013/02/11/scott-plans-to-give-uf-15-million/
    It still needs approval by the state Legislature. YOU DON’T NEED STATE
    SINCE THIS IS GETTING TOSSED AROUND SO MUCH – SEE AP ON TOP 10: Q. What is the proper use of Top 10? I’ve always capped Top…is this correct? from Sunriver, Ore. on Aug 23, 2012
    A. It’s usually capped in a formally named ranking, lowercase in more casual references.

    Ronald R. Rodgers

    February 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    • Whoops, I just edited the headline. I didn’t really look at the content when I saw Chris Peralta’s byline. I can edit it now, though.

      charmainemiller

      February 18, 2013 at 9:18 am


Leave a Reply

