Miller Charmaine

Charmaine's adventures in news writing and editing

Story idea 6

leave a comment »

This week I dried up a bit on story ideas. I was interested, though, in the event on campus happening that day put on by Islam on Campus, a student organization. It was hijab day, and all women were encouraged to stop by the Islam on Campus table on Turlington Plaza from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. to borrow a hijab. The ladies would wear these Muslim headscarves while going about their daily activities. They could later return these hijabs at a discussion the same day at 6:30 p.m. in the New Physics Building. This is one event for Islam Awareness Month.

I was extremely interested, but I had my mind set on participating, so I didn’t want to attempt the story myself. I just wanted to present the idea to online reporter Samantha Shavell, because she is often looking for ideas and that would be a story she could quickly go down to Turlington that morning and do. When I got to the newsroom, Samantha wasn’t there. I had no idea the governor was coming to UF, so I think it was good for her that she took the initiative to get down there and do that story.

Beyond that, I did not present the idea to anyone else because I ended up liking Christina DeVarona’s idea better. I thought mine would be too campus-y. But here are some of the contacts I thought of using:

Islam on Campus representatives at the table.

Students coming to the table for borrowing/help with putting on the headscarf. (There is an art to it!)

Islam on Campus officers like Islam Awareness Month committee chair Rafe Biswas, iam@islamoncampus.com

or Sameer Sboungi, vice president of external affairs, vpexternal@islamoncampus.com

Also, I thought about contacting Gainesville’s Interfaith Alliance for Immigrant Justice to see if there were any Muslim representatives who would like to comment on this event. I think this event encouraged a lot of interfaith discourse and education. Richard MacMaster, 352-371-6772.

Questions: How many women participated? Were they mostly students? How many hijabs did you prepare to lend out? How long have you been wearing a headscarf? What other events are going on for Islam Awareness Month? Why is this event important to bring to campus? Is this the first time this organization has done something like this? What has been the feedback from participants so far?

Written by charmainemiller

February 16, 2013 at 10:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

